“I Could Have Told You Vincent”


c. 1632

Image via Wikipedia

The Very Best of Don McLean
Image via Wikipedia

“But I could have told you, Vincent, This world was never meant for one. As beautiful as you.”  Don Mclean sung words which he did not understand the full meaning to.  Others have sung another song: “This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through.”  Indeed, this world was never meant as a home to those who serve Love.  There is a place where God’s people are destined to appear.  Yet, until we reach that place we will be utterly misunderstood and cast out of the world’s favor.  “They went about in sheepskins and goatskins, destitute, persecuted and mistreated the world was not worthy of them.”

“How you suffered for your sanity.  How you tried to set them free.  They did not listen, they did not know how.  Perhaps they’ll listen now.”  Then the words render a different note of horror:  “. . . perhaps they never will.”  What is it to us if they listen or not?  We are bound by the Glory of God to testify!   And testify I will, regardless the response!

Were these words spoken as a testimony to your faith in Jesus, would you feel the power of that testimony?  Could they be spoken of you?  Will you permit me to ask you a question without turning toward pride?  What is stopping you from becoming a blazing flame of testimony for the One who has redeemed you? 

By His Grace.

A Beautiful Suicide


Reflection

Image by freefotouk via Flickr

A delicate proposition is presented to all. 

An ending proposed.

All potential destroyed.

And in it’s place, a standing tall.

What was held within the hand;

A futile life indeed.

No hope of better days.

A place appears, for standing tall.

Come over here, you pride of man.

You’ve cursed me far too long.

It’s time to meet your blackest day.

Light dawns, for standing tall.

Within my hand is placed the tool,

Which ends your bloody cravings.

What you desire is not to be.

In this place for standing tall.

Who’s Your Hero?


A cool old guy in ginza, Tokyo

Image via Wikipedia

I am often struck with a deep sense of sadness and awe at how men praise each other yet offer no praise to the One who made men.  Though I have had my heros among men, this foolishness no longer has any attraction for me.

I was looking within my heart, the other day, to see who I admire among men.  I was looking for that particular “hero”.  I was looking to find the one who inspired me to continue toward what is better or best.  And I was amused to find no one rise to the top.  There have been many who have set a good example for me to consider.  But none rise far enough to become my hero.  Most of those who have held that position in my life were men who denied God His rightful place.  And they held that place within me before I knew the Most High God through Jesus. 

Does a man live well without a hero?  The answer is: “My people die for lack of vision.”  No man can render anything more than destruction without finding The source of creation and life.  Though most live with a hero who is far less than “good”, who they aspire to become will dictate where the arrive.  If my hero is the one who puts together a thatch hut, a thatch hut is what I will build.  If  my hero is he who has built a castle, a castle is what I will build.  And if my hero is He who lives forever, living forever is that to which I will aspire.

Who’s your hero?

 

by His Grace.

Rise up! Open the Door!


via Flickr”]behind closed doors

Darkness abounds.  Men grope about, touching unfamiliar objects.  Though the Sun rises and light appears to dawn in the land of the living dead, they do not perceive the Light which has shown from eternity to eternity.  To their loss, men continue to grope.  And in this frantic reaching for that which does not last, they live as if dead.  The rot of their greed is a stench which their noses do not smell.  With eyes glazed over with the things of this world, they see nothing.  They speak of things which have no meaning but destruction; to themselves and those who hear their words.  But they do not perceive their plight.

“Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”  Like a man who fears the one who holds death in his hand, the living dead fear the sound of this knocking.  In their dead lives they perceive God’s calling as an omen of tragedy.  Yet, what do they have that is not tragedy?  How can encountering this Beautiful One be more terrible than the life they are now leading?  Still, how very few even ask, “Who is it who knocks on the door of my heart?”

Why do you fear what you do not understand?  What is this smell of fear in your house?  From who does that odor come?  It comes from you.  What do you have to lose that you have not already lost?  What do you have to gain that you have never tasted?  And with what will you redeem even one of your sins? 

Rise up and open the door!  You are already dead before the Throne of the Most High God.  For the sentence is already passed on those who live without the Lord Jesus.  And those who say they serve Him, yet walk in darkness will not fare much better.  There is a place where those who have proclaimed the name of the Lord, but never walked with Him, will be shown for who they were.  And they will be assigned a place with the unbelievers.  Rise up!  Open the Door!

By His Grace.