From My Point of View


From my point of view, God is indescribably great. 

Some may call my point of view theology.  But in saying that, I think they would have a hard time nailing down what I believe.  Even I would have a hard time finding supporting scriptures.  But then I’m not a scholar.  And my knowledge of Scripture is usually pointed in the direction of application, not theology.

What I believe has come to me by Bible reading, faith, prayer and diligent observation of God moving in my life. 

In the way of Bible reading, I am relatively fluent.  But there are certainly masters of the art.  I may well remember what it says, but I likely can’t tell you chapter and verse.

I say faith.  I’m afraid you need a microscope to find mine.  If faith the size of a mustard seed can move a mountain, how much can I hope to brag.  The Rockies are still where I found them.  The Appalachians are still filled with trails to hike.  And there are still enough hills in America to hide gigantic wheat fields.

As far as prayer is concerned, I am no prayer warrior.  I am more the man who will pray as he knows, and ask to be taught.  It is here that God has revealed enough to make me able to walk as a Christian. 

I am no prophet as some define Prophets.  And I am no teacher, but for the fact that we all teach by the way we act.

And as far as diligent observation goes, I see with what bleak eyes God has chosen to give me.  I watch the wind blow.  I listen to the words men speak.  I take note of the way of men as opposed to the way of God.  And I even listen to the birds.

All of this was written to admit I know nothing.  All of this was written to avoid a war of words and ideas.

With all that said let’s get back to the idea of how great God is.

We are a product of an answer to an accusation.  The accusation is that God demands too much and does not provide sufficiently.  (this is the specific belief that may draw conflict)

How great is God?  God is so great that he allowed an enemy to amass, in a place that he willingly created. 

God is so great that he entered this mass of enemy.  He assumed their form and there was nothing beautiful about him that he should be desired.

God is so great that he willingly taught this enemy about a way to live instead of die.  All this he has done knowing what would happen. 

God is so great that he allowed his enemy to take him by force. 

God is so great that he did not complain while they mocked and beat him. 

God is so great that he allowed them to strip him of all his glory.  He let them flogg him to the point that he was no longer recognizable as a man.  And in this he made no complaint or accusation.

And here is the crowning achievement of the greatness of God:  that when the Word of God assumed his place as the rightful King of kings, he reached down to his mass of enemy, and continually offers salvation for those who hate him.

Yes God is great!  Men may dispute his existence.  But for those who believe, he is the supreme power of salvation.

Oh how my soul wants to continue.  There are so very many reasons why God is great.  But I’ll leave this to stand. 

May the spirit of God strengthen, convict and convert as the will of God dictates.

Amen!

By His Grace

Leave a Reply

