The Lion


I dreamed a dream fit for no weak heart.  Yet I woke with no fear or trembling.  Sobriety was in my cup as one may sip his coffee in the morning.  I drank the wisdom of God to understand.

This is the dream:

A lion was loose among men.  In his devouring of men he was noticed.  The marks of his attack were properly identified. 

All men were called up to be on the watch and report.  As if by some means the lion could be captured and killed.

In the dream I had no fear.  I decided to hunt him down myself to see what all the ruckus was about.  Men die everyday, why such an uproar now?

I spied him running from room to room down a long and extensive hallway.  And so I followed as fast as I could.

Finally, in the open space, I found him resting.  With greeting from my mouth, I went over to speak to him.

I asked him why men despised him so, for he seemed such an amiable creature.  He willingly befriended me and took me to his lair.

There we sat, and talked of things.  He even offered me a cup of delightful drink, as we sat and mused together. 
I may have heard what he was saying, but I can’t recall one word.  The actions of another lion caught my attention.  It was then I noticed the bed.

A woman lay on the bed roasted, so that the meat of her body was tender for consuming. 

His companion, another lion, gingerly split the skin and ate.  Noticing the revulsion in my eyes, the lion explained to me that it is a delicacy and very delicious.

But I heard moaning, as if from a deliriously insane person.  I looked and saw that the woman was still alive.  Even though only her eyes could be seen moving.  They were wide open and quickly glancing about, as if one may be afraid for lack of knowledge.

After a while the Lions left, having satiated their hunger.  It was then that I awoke.

No fear attended me, and I did not consider it a nightmare.  Instead I have sought the Lord to understand.  It seemed to me that such a dream cannot have its source in the imagination of man.

In the process striving to understand, certain items of Holy Word have come to mind: define the lion, define devouring, define the amiable one who destroys men. 

Yet I am perplexed by the uproar among men.  Devouring has been a part of man’s experience from the beginning.  Why should they notice now?

The following scripture has fallen into my hand.  Let those who are wise in the Living God’s Christ understand.

Isaiah 59:
11 “We all growl like bears;
we moan mournfully like doves.
We look for justice, but find none;
for deliverance, but it is far away.
12 For our offenses are many in your sight,
and our sins testify against us.
Our offenses are ever with us,
and we acknowledge our iniquities:
13 rebellion and treachery against the Lord,
turning our backs on our God,
inciting revolt and oppression,
uttering lies our hearts have conceived.
14 So justice is driven back,
and righteousness stands at a distance;
truth has stumbled in the streets,
honesty cannot enter.
15 Truth is nowhere to be found,
and whoever shuns evil becomes a prey.”

I will relate no more understanding than this.  For what I have perceived may not be the full.  Yet what I have perceived is too the voluminous to write.

May God show his people what is true and faultless.  May he wake the sleeping.  May He protect and receive the righteous.

Beyond all things of man, may the will of the Living God be done forever.  In Christ Jesus he has secured his salvation.  Though the body is devoured, hope remains.

Yet, let all men worship Him, especially those of The Faith.  Let my brothers and sisters renew the urgent calling within them.  Christianity is not just religious habit.  It is a vicious and vibrant struggle between life and death. 

Let sobriety speak!  Those who count the things of Christ as if they are of this world, will not stand well on the coming day. 

But God is first.  As is the Father, so is the Son.  For the sake of His Holy name, may His will forever be done.

Even so, Lord Jesus come!

By His Grace

Leave a Reply

