Plethora


abundance, cornucopia, feast, plenitude, plentitude, plenty, superabundance, wealth.

So many voices saying, “This is the way”.  So many claims to truth.  So little time to devote to “shaking out” the differences.  What’s a man to do?

Look what Charles Spurgeon said, I do not come into this pulpit hoping that perhaps somebody will of his own free will return to Christ.  My hope lies in another quarter.  I hope that my Master will lay hold of some of them and say, “You are mine, and you shall be mine.  I claim you for myself.”  My hope arises from the freeness of grace, and not from the freedom of the will. 

No man can save himself.  No man can even be sure that he has ahold of the things of the Living God.  Even as he sets his hand to understanding, others tell him he is wrong.  Not only that, but doubts rise up in the man himself.  To read all the literature of man regarding religion, is too much.  A man will die before he finishes the readings.  Then, if he’s finished reading, will he be any better off?  What’s a man to do?  Then we add all the socially accepted means of pleasing God; and there are billions of those!

I’m not talking about opinions.  I’m talking about absolute, concrete, unmovable, eternal, holy, and vibrant Truth.  How does a man “know” he has the Truth of God?

I said, “Read the Bible”.  But that’s a really large book.  And so many books set themselves up along side the Bible.  I said, “Believe me, when I tell you that Christ Jesus is the Truth of God”.  But why should a man believe me, when there are millions of others who say the same things?  And those millions don’t speak of Christ in the same loving terms.

Here’s the answer:

The truth of God lives in God’s Holy Son.  I know that even that saying is too much for those who doubt.  I know that there are many claims to the truth of God.  But I testify that the power of life from God lives in His Holy Son.  In Jesus’ own words, “No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them, and I will raise them up at the last day”. (John 6: 44)

What’s it take to get God to show you his Holy Son?  You must humble yourself in prayer.  God will filter out pride.  God will filter out man’s ability.  Requests to God that contain anything more than humility, will not receive His favor.  God protects His Son from the onslaught of man’s violent pride and greed.  It is the hungry, the broken, the humiliated, the lost, the desperate, and the diligent, whose prayers are heard.

Forget about being able to figure it all out.  The mind of man cannot know the things of Heaven except that Heaven is revealed to him.

Ok, you don’t have time to read every written word regarding religion.  But are you willing to pray?  Nothing more I can tell anyone will help them.  The answer to all the confusion lives in humbling ourselves before God and asking for His Help.

 

Leave a Reply

