Acid to the Body


Psalm 126 verse 4 has a curious thing to say.  “Bring back our captivity, Oh Lord . . .”

While the nations call for joy, the Lord corrects his people with blazing strength.  While they call for celebration, let the people of God ask for training.

“Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep Your Word.”  (Psalm 119:67)

“Unless your law had been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction.” (Psalm 119: 92)

Do not be like those who revel in wicked abandon.  Do not be like those who “gather” that they may have joy.  Let us be of the Living God’s Holy Son.  Let us train our tongue to love taste of that which is acid to the body, yet sweetness unto eternal life.

Leave a Reply

