The Sum of Love


The prowess of the inkwell is on vacation. Tis the Sabbath of expected diligence.

The following article will not be dressed for the egg head ball; that certain gathering of literary elegance. I will not even bother to knock on the door of the seamstress. Considering the content, let this article be ugly.
__________

In my youth, we constantly moved from place to place. I don’t remember spending a full year in any one school. I was always the new kid. I was always the threshold for the wannabe bullies. No one knew me, no one cared, I was a walking target for hatred. No more than an unknown animal in society, I was prime to be abused.

My first 17 years of life taught me that there is no such thing as love. There was only social acceptance. But social acceptance took time that I never had.

I quickly learned that this is what men call love. I endured their hatred, despising, outcasting, and beatings because I knew there was no end in sight. Needless to say, I became a despicable human being.

I found that the love of man is based on competition. If you perform well, according to their expectations, they embrace you readily. But let a fault show and they are heartless pursuers. And I was full to overflowing with faults.

I saw the accepted ones make mistakes. But there seemed to be an unwritten code of tolerance. A “one off” is accepted as if a simple mistake. Yes they paid a price for their mistakes, but it was not terminal.

If you want to beat the bully, believe in Christ the Son of God. If you want to strip your life of the competition that men call love, believe in the love of God.

God is not a man that he should pit us against one another.

God is not a man that he should honor the strength of body and social position.

As you are willing to believe, the power of God becomes greater than any persecution.

Blessed is the man who endures because he believes. The man who does not believe endures all things as punishment. And to whatever extent a man believes so his perception of punishment is lessened. His perception of life’s difficulties is reduced.

Where there is a solution to a problem a man may be willing to wait patiently for it and endure the problem. Such endurance confounds those who live to hate. When they find they cannot break something, eventually they become bored and walk away.

Looking over your shoulder is no way to live at peace; always in fear of punishment.

Do we believe our problems are temporary or do we believe they are the end of us?

Consider what Jesus has told us.

Leave a Reply

