Chitchat


She came over to me to chitchat.  So, against my desire, I did chitchat.  We talked about dogs.  We talked about family.  We talked about public schools.  We talked about spanking.  We talked about survival, regardless the upbringing. Finally, we got to my desire.

We were talking about the foolishness of children.  And I found occasion to tell her about how the book of Proverbs turned my life toward God.  But before I could finish the first sentence, she said she had to leave.

She left.  I Shrugged my shoulders.  But the encounter made me realize something.  I don’t want to chitchat.  I don’t want to talk about politics.  I don’t want to talk about our problems.  I don’t want to share in the ritual of blame.  I want to talk the language of Heaven.  I want to talk about Jesus.  I want to talk about the solution.

There are two languages that people can use.  One is limited to the things of Man.  The other is limited to the things of God.  Most people are not capable of talking about the things of God.  But the one who loves the language of Heaven can talk about them both.

Define freedom.

Leave a Reply

