“I Believe”, by Brooks & Dunn


​I was happily listening to Brooks and Dunn sing the song “I Believe”.   I love the story about the old man.  I love the story of how the young man took the news of the old man’s death; “I didn’t know whether to cry or laugh”.
     Then the lyrics come what my soul has had trouble with in the past.  I know the words are coming, and so I overlook them.  But today they disturbed  my peaceful mood.  The singer says, “I can’t quote the words, the chapter or the verse”.
     Here’s the rub:  Well why didn’t you look into it before you wrote the lyrics!
     The world always takes as much of Jesus as it wants to.  It knows what makes money, and what doesn’t.  If he had completed the lyrics to that song with a passion for Jesus, I doubt the song would have sold as much.
     That just rubs my soul!  Because the people who love that song likely agree with him.  And because they sing the lyrics they think they have something.

Enough said I suppose.

Leave a Reply

