Expected Usefulness


My left foot works just fine.  

When I want to open the door, mindlessly, I command my hand to turn the knob and the door opens.


If I want to see where I’m going, all I have to do is raise my eyelids.  


Like almost everyone else, I don’t see the miracle of this very often. My body is slave to my mind. There’s no need for pageantry regarding the foot, hand or eyelids.  But let any of these be injured so that they don’t work as they should, you’ll find me quite concerned for the welfare of my body.  


The apostle John said “The true light, coming into the world, that gives light to every man”.


The light. Have we become complacent about righteousness?  Have we begun to treat it like our body?  We take for granted that we know what is right to do.   Where did we get that knowledge?


Complacency quickly evaporates when we realize we have done something stupid and violently broke the laws of God.  


When is it the proper time to fall on our knees and give thanks that God himself has placed righteousness in our minds and hearts?  Without the Lord Jesus we would immediately fall into disrepair (No matter whether you believe in him or not.).

Leave a Reply

